New Year’s Resolution

One thing (among many) that people may not know about me is that I build model airplanes. I always have, since I was a kid. Most people who build model airplanes build military aircraft, that’s what most model companies produce and what most people are interested in. I, on the other hand, build civilian aircraft from the 20’s and 30’s, the era airliners were born.
My specific interest is in WW1 military aircraft used in the first commercial and civil roles. Many of these fighters and bombers were surplus after the war ended, as well as trained pilots with nothing to do. Bombers became airliners, fighters carried mail or joyriders. Information on these aircraft in their civil roles is hard to come by, but the research is appealing to me.
The aircraft in the photos below was a German seaplane used to hunt British submarines, but after the war became one of Germany’s first mail carriers. For those who care, it is a Hansa Brandenburg W.29.

The model itself came from a plastic kit, but I spent almost two years off and on correcting little details that the manufacturer had overlooked. That may seem like alot of time, but I would work on it for a week or so, then set it aside for several more before returning to work on it.

What does this have to do with a New Year’s resolution you ask? Well, I put quite alot of time and effort into this and created a model of an aircraft that many others have built, but in a role that is nearly forgotten historically. But more than that, I am very proud of this model and myself.
So my resolution for this year is to spend more time doing things that I am proud of; from raking the yard more often, eating more fruit, flossing more often, building models, doing design work.. whatever. Just to enjoy the feeling of being proud of myself more often.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Resolution

  1. jeffgunn says:

    That’s pretty elite work right there.

Leave a Reply

